

### **Greater Harris County 9-1-1 Emergency Network**

### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 14, 2022

#### Contact:

Sonya Lopez-Clauson (713) 806-9495 cell Greater Harris County 9-1-1 Public Information Officer

## TEN LOCAL AREA 9-1-1 PROFESSIONALS RECEIVE STATE OF TEXAS 9-1-1 AWARDS

# Harris County Sheriff's Office Telecommunicator Recognized as Texas 9-1-1 Telecommunicator of the Year for Lifesaving Efforts

A Harris County Sheriff's Office 9-1-1 telecommunicator was honored as the 9-1-1 Telecommunicator of the Year at Texas Public Safety Awards event. There were also several other 9-1-1 professionals from the Greater Houston area recognized for their professionalism in the 9-1-1 industry. Greater Harris County 9-1-1 Emergency Network (GHC 9-1-1) would like to recognize these individuals for their dedication to public safety, emergency communications and the community.

Harris County Sheriff's Office 9-1-1 telecommunicator Datash Acre received the **2021 9-1-1 Telecommunicator of the Year award** by the Texas Chapter of the National Emergency Number Association (TX NENA). Ms. Acre was honored for her exemplary handling of an incident on January 3, 2021 that involved a shooting where three officers were shot. She coordinated with her fellow dispatchers to get EMS, HPD, and the district unit's enroute to help with the scene and get the injured officers much needed medical attention. All of the officers survived. "Her ability to remain calm in such a stressful situation while multitasking to provide quick response to those who needed help, is an example for others," said Tim Staten, Harris County 9-1-1 coordinator.

In addition there were several other local area telecommunicators who received awards at the Texas Public Safety Awards Banquet by TX NENA and the Texas Association of Public Safety Communications Officers (TX APCO). GHC 9-1-1 would like to recognize the following:

- TX APCO Supervisor of the Year Honoree: Lauren Belvin of League City Police Department
- TX NENA Operational Professional of the Year: Vernita Rawls of Pearland Police Department
- TX NENA Training Training Professional Of the Year: Amanda Davis w/ Sugar Land Public Safety Dispatch

The following 9-1-1 professionals were honored as a TX NENA Silent Hero, an award presented to an individual for their exceptional professionalism in the field of public safety. It also acknowledges the special contributions of telecommunicators whose daily performance is an inspiration and example to others.

- Jason Gregory, Baytown Emergency Communications
- Cyprian Lee-Chong, Harris County Sheriff's Office
- Crystal Marrero, Houston Emergency Center
- Megan Votaw, League City Police Department
- Amanda Yeldell, Sugar Land Public Safety Dispatch
- Christina DeLeon, Pearland Police Department